



Clyde Estes

Twentieth Chairman of the Lower Brule Sioux Tribe

October 2020-Present

Born: June 11, 1975

## Before Chairmanship:

- Started Public Service Career in 1997 when he began working as an EMT with the Lower Brule Ambulance Service.
- In 2004 he started working for the Lower Brule Wildlife Department as a seasonal worker.
- He became the ISS-Supervisor at the Lower Brule School District, a position he held until being elected to the tribal council.
- In 2016, in the middle of a campaign for council, he would become a volunteer with the Lower Brule Fire Department.
- Tribal Council Member 2016-2020,

## 2020 Lower Brule Tribal Chairman Election

#### <u>Candidates</u>

- Boyd Gourneau (Incumbent) served two terms as chairman (2016 & 2018). He also served a total of twenty years before being elected to the Chairmanship. He served six terms as Council Member and three terms as Vice-Chairman.
- Clyde Estes (Council Member) served two terms as council member.

#### <u>Results</u>

 Since there were only two candidates there was no primary for Chairman in 2020. Clyde Estes won with 62% and 305 votes to Boyd Gourneau's 38% and 186 votes.

		Primary	General	Precent of Voters-P	Precent of Voters-G
Chairman					
Boyd	Gourneau		186		38%
Clyde	Estes		305		62%
Total	Voters		491	100%	100%



(Chairman Estes, sworn in October 7, 2020)

# 2020-2022 Estes Administration

- Clyde Estes, Chairman
  - o Ursula Estes, Administrative Assistant/Recording Secretary
- Cody Russell, Vice-Chairman
- Marvin Grassrope, Secretary-Treasurer
- Council Members
  - John McCauley
  - Donovan Grassrope
  - Stephanie Bolman

## Other Tribal Administration

- Randy Seiler, Tribal Attorney
- Shana Grassel-Harming, Tribal Manager
- Christian Skunk, Public Information Officer
- Lorrie Miner, Chief Judge

## **BIA Administration**

• James Two Bulls, BIA Superintende

#### 2022 Lower Brule Tribal Chairman Election

#### <u>Candidates</u>

- Boyd Gourneau (Former Chairman) served two terms as chairman (2016 & 2018). He also served a total of twenty years before being elected to the Chairmanship. He served six terms as Council Member and three terms as Vice-Chairman.
- Clyde Estes (Incumbent) serving his first term as chairman. Served twoterms as a council member 2016-2020.
- Shawn Laroche (Former Council Member) served six terms as a council member (2002-2014)

#### <u>Results</u>

- The primary election was held on August 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2022. Incumbent Chairman Clyde Estes and former Chairman Boyd Gourneau advanced to the general election. Clyde Estes placed first with 48% and 193 votes, Boyd Gourneau placed second with 34% and 135 votes, and Shawn LaRoche placed third with 18% and 73 votes. The voter turnout was 73% 401 of the 546 registered.
- The general election took place on September 6, 2022. Incumbent Chairman Clyde Estes won reelection to a second term. Clyde Estes placed first with 54% and 232 votes while Boyd Gourneau placed second with 46% and 197 votes. Voter turnout was 70% 429 of 605 registered.

			2		
		Primary	General	Precent of Voters-P	Precent of Voters-G
Chairman					
Boyd	Gourneau	135	197	34%	45.92%
Clyde	Estes (I)	193	232	48%	54.08%
Shawn	LaRoche	73		18%	
Total	Voters	401	429	100%	100%



(Chairman Estes, sworn in October 5,2022)

# 2022-2024 Estes Administration

- Clyde Estes, Chairman
  - o Ursula Estes, Administrative Assistant/Recording Secretary
- Cody Russell, Vice-Chairman
- Marvin Grassrope, Secretary-Treasurer
- Council Members
  - o Christian Skunk
  - o Jewel Jandreau
  - Fely Goodface

# Other Tribal Administration

- Randy Seiler, Tribal Attorney
- Tim Azure, Tribal Manager
- , Public Information Officer
- Lorrie Miner, Chief Judge